AFL Announces All-Arena First & Second Teams

July 17, 2018 • Ben Heck • Albany Empire, Arena Football League, Baltimore Brigade, Front Page, Philadelphia Soul, Washington Valor

Press Release from

LAS VEGAS – The Arena Football League has announced the 2018 All-Arena First and Second Teams. Of the 36 players named, 11 earn their way on to a 2018 All-Arena Team for the first-time in their career.

Headlining the First-Team All-Arena is Albany Empire quarterback Tommy Grady who was named to an All-Arena team for the second-time in his career as he led the League in passing yards (2,960) and passing touchdowns (81). Teammates Joe Hills and Malachi Jones join Hills as the pair of Empire players were among the League leaders in receiving categories; Hills led the AFL with 33 receiving touchdowns and third in receiving yards with 1,045 while Jones was first in receiving yards with 1,156 and second in touchdown receptions, hauling in 24. Center Ryan Cave, offensive lineman Hayworth Hicks, defensive end Joe Sykes, linebacker Terence Moore, and defensive back Marrio Norman round out the Empire players on the First-Team.

The Baltimore Brigade are well represented on the First-Team All-Arena list with six players; offensive lineman Jordan McCray (1st time First-Team honoree), defensive lineman Justin Lawrence (2nd straight First-Team All-Arena), linebacker Dexter Jackson, defensive back Virgil Gray, kicker Mark Lewis, and special teams Brandon Thompkins.

Rounding out the First-Team All Arena are four players from the Philadelphia Soul. Wide receiver Darius Prince earns his first selection to the All-Arena First Team and is joined by fullback Jeramie Richardson (1st time First-Team selection, Second-Team last two seasons), defensive end Jake Metz and defensive back James Romain.

QB Tommy Grady – Albany
FB Jeramie Richardson – Philadelphia
WR Joe Hills – Albany
WR Malachi Jones –Albany
WR Darius Prince – Philadelphia
C Ryan Cave – Albany
OL Hayworth Hicks – Albany
OL Jordan McCray – Baltimore
DE Joe Sykes – Albany
DE Jake Metz – Philadelphia
DT Justin Lawrence – Baltimore
MLB Dexter Jackson – Baltimore
JLB Terence Moore – Albany
DB Marrio Norman – Albany
DB James Romain – Philadelphia
DB Virgil Gray – Baltimore
K Mark Lewis – Baltimore
ST Brandon Thompkins – Baltimore

QB Randy Hippeard – Baltimore
FB Rory Nixon – Baltimore
WR Reggie Gray – Washington
WR Brandon Thompkins – Baltimore
WR Aaron Wascha – Philadelphia
C PhillipKeith Manley – Philadelphia
OL Neal Tivis – Philadelphia
OL Wayne Tribue – Philadelphia
DE Darryl Cato-Bishop – Albany
DE Rodney Fritz – Baltimore
DT Brandon Sesay – Albany
MLB Derrick Summers – Albany
JLB Joe Goosby – Philadelphia
DB Dwayne Hollis – Philadelphia
DB Joe Powell – Baltimore
DB Varmah Sonie – Albany
K Adrian Trevino – Philadelphia
ST Chris Duvalt – Washington

The Washington Valor earn two spots on the Second-Team All Arena, headlined by “Big Play” wide receiver Reggie Gray and special teams Chris Duvalt (1st time selection).


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »