Louisville QB Lamar Jackson Captures 2016 Heisman Trophy

December 10, 2016 • Ben Heck • Breaking News, Front Page, NCAA

This evening, the 2016 Heisman Trophy winner has been announced. Louisville’s sophomore play-making quarterback Lamar Jackson takes home the hardware, beating out quarterbacks Deshaun Watson and Baker Mayfield, receiver Dede Westbrook, and LB/CB/return specialist Jabrill Peppers.

The 6’3″/205-pound quarterback became the youngest player to ever win the award, at 19 years of age.

Jackson completed the 2016 regular season by becoming the first player in NCAA Division I history to accumulate 3,300+ passing yards and 1,500+ rushing yards in a single-season.

His impressive numbers include a 153.3 QB rating, 3,390 passing yards, 30 TD, 9 INT (57.6 comp. %) and 1,538 yards and 21 touchdowns on the ground. He’s accounted for 51 total touchdowns for the Cardinals in 12 games this season.

Photo: Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »