NCAA: Terps Drop Season Finale to No. 10 Penn State

November 25, 2017 • Ben Heck • Front Page, NCAA, University of Maryland

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Wide receiver DJ Moore hauled in eight catches for 100 yards en route to breaking Maryland’s single-season reception record, but the Terps fell to No. 10 Penn State, 66-3, on Saturday afternoon.

Moore finished the season with 80 catches, breaking the Maryland single-season record on his sixth catch of the game. The record had previously been held by Geroy Simon (77) since 1994.

Moore also finished the season with 1,037 reception yards, becoming just the third player in Maryland history to reach the 1,000 yard mark, joining Marcus Badgett (1992 – 1,240) and Torrey Smith (2010 – 1,055).

Penn State’s Trace McSorley threw two touchdown passes and ran for a score to help the Nittany Lions improve to 10-2 overall and 7-2 in Big Ten play.

Junior Ty Johnson led Maryland (4-8, 2-7 B1G) with 70 rushing yards on just eight carries. Johnson finished the season with 1,592 all-purpose yards – a mark that ranks seventh in Maryland single-season history.

Senior Jermaine Carter, Jr. led the Terps defense with 11 tackles. He ends the season with a team-high 90 tackles, marking his third straight season leading the team in the category. Carter finished with 329 tackles in his career.

Maryland honored its 19 seniors in a pregame ceremony. The Terps open the 2018 season against Texas at FedEx Field on Sept. 1, 2018.

More on Moore: DJ Moore ends his junior season with 146 career catches – a mark that ranks fifth in Maryland history. His 2,027 career reception yards makes him just the fifth player in Maryland history to achieve 2,000 career receiving yards. Moore’s eight touchdowns this season rank tied for fourth in Maryland’s single-season history. He ranks fourth in Maryland career history with 17 touchdown catches.

Carter Leaves His Mark: Senior linebacker Jermaine Carter, Jr. is just the fifth player since 1969 to lead the Terps in tackles three straight seasons, joining Alex Wujciak (2008-10), D’Qwell Jackson (2003-05), E.J. Henderson (2000-02) and Ratcliff Thomas (1993-95).


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »